+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Chapter 9 - Exam Preparation Questions and Answers [VLAN & VTP]

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34

    Chapter 9 - Exam Preparation Questions and Answers [VLAN & VTP]

    1) What are the benefits of VLAN?
    Code:
    - They allow logical grouping of users by function.
    - They can enhance network security by separating sensitive data traffic from other network traffic.
    - They increase the number of broadcast domains while decreasing the size of the broadcast domains.
    - A more efficient use of bandwidth can be achieved allowing many logical networks to use the same network infrastructure.
    - Broadcast storms can be mitigated by increasing the number of broadcast domains, thus reducing their size.

    2) What command can be used to reset the VTP managment domain to NULL ?
    Code:
    SwitchName#delete vlan dat

    3) Why do we assign Ports to VLAN ?
    Code:
    - To isolate broadcast traffic
    - to logically group hosts according to function
    - To increase network security

    4) What do you know about 802.1Q ?
    Code:
    - 802.1Q native VLAN frames are untagged by default.
    - 802.1Q trunks can use 10 Mb/s Ethernet interfaces.
    - 802.1Q trunks should have VLANs that are the same at both ends.

    5) What two protocols that are used to carry more than one VLAN over a single link?
    Code:
    - 802.1Q
    - ISL

    6) A switch running VTP on a server mode, what steps are required to erase the VTP Database of VLANS on that switch?
    Code:
    a) Erase the vlan dat file
    b) Reload the switch

    7) State three of the VLANs advantage
    Code:
    1- VLANs establish broadcast domains in switched networks.
    2- VLANs allow access to network services based on department, not physical location.
    3- VLANs can greatly simplify adding, moving, or changing hosts on the network.

    8) What do you know about VLAN 1 and VLAN 1002 Through 1005 ?
    Code:
    VLAN 1 is the default Ethernet VLAN.
    VLAN 1002 through 1005 are automatically created and cannot be deleted.

    9) An IP Phone is installed along with a computer in the same network, To provide more security you need to isolate the IP Phone traffic from the
    other computer's traffic, What device will you use and what technology would you implement ?
    Code:
    Using a Switch as a device and VLAN to isolate the traffic.

    10) If VLAN 100 is not configured on your switch, And you typed that command : switchport access vlan 100, How will the switch respond to that command?
    Code:
    The command is accepted and the respective VLAN is added to vlan dat.

    11) What are the characteristics of a switch running VTP in client mode ?
    Code:
    - The local vlan configuration is updated only when an update that has a higher configuration revision number is received.
    - When switches in vtp client mode are rebooted, they send a vtp advertisement request to the vtp sewers.

    12) What mode in VTP that enables switch to forward only VTP advertisments and does not synchronize with other switches in the VTP domain?
    Code:
    Transparent mode

    13) What command do you type to set a password for VTP to validate the source of VTP advertisments sent between switches?
    Code:
    vtp password mypasswordhere

    14) When you are configuring router interface for VLAN trunking, What three things you should consider?
    Code:
    1- One IP network or subnetwork for each subinterface
    2- subinterface encapsulation identifiers that match vlan tags
    3- one subinterface per vlan

    15) What protocol is responsible for sharing VLAN information?
    Code:
    VTP

    16) By default, every port on a switch is assigned to VLAN1, to avoid unauthorized access managment access, What do you recommend?
    Code:
    - Move the management VLAN to something other than default VLAN.
    - Shutdown all unused ports in the Catalyst switch.

    17) State two benefits of the VLAN Trunking Protocol
    Code:
    - VTP simplifies switch administration by allowing switches to automatically share VLAN configuration information.
    - VTP helps to limit configuration errors by keeping VLAN naming consistent across the VTP domain.

    18) Which approach should you use to confsgnre the extended vlan range (1006 througn 4094) on a swtich?
    Code:
    Configure the switch to be in VTP Transparent mode

    19) What does this command mean ?
    switchport trunk native vlan 999
    Code:
    It designates VLAN 999 for untagged traffic

    20) What is the result of applying this command?
    Switch(config)#vtp mode client
    Code:
    The Swtich will forward VTP Summary advertisements
    The Swtich will process VTP Summary advertisements

    21) A network that has a single Router and a single Swtich, The switch has been configured with two vlans and route-on-a-stick is being
    configured, A trunk link has been created between Switch and Router, How many router interfaces are required for VLANs to communicate?
    Code:
    Two since we have only two vlans

    22) A switch currently has switch ports assigned to a VLAN, What is the effect of adding switchports to a new VLAN?
    Code:
    One more broadcast domain will be created.
    
    Since each VLAN has it's own broadcast.

    23) What are the benefits of using VTP?
    Code:
    - It maintains VLAN consistency across a switched network.
    - It allows VLAN information to be automatically propagate throughout the switching environment.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    24) When an additional VLAN was added to that switch, VLAN added to Switch1 are not learned by Switch2, Based on the given information, What could be the problem ?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	24.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	163
    Code:
    The links between the switches are access links.

    25) If you want to add a host to that network what could be the ip address and default gateway for that host?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	25.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	164
    Code:
    IP Address : 192.168.1.79
    Default Gateway : 192.168.1.78

    26) What are the Access ports in this network ?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	26.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	165
    Code:
    Switch1 > FA 0/2
    Switch2 > FA 0/3
    Switch2 > FA 0/4

    27) The router shown has only 2 interfaces and you would like to add another Vlan , say Vlan3 , How can you do that without the need of adding new physical ports to the router?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	27.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	166
    Code:
    Configure a singe VLAN trunk between R1 and SW1 and configure subinterface on R1 interface for each VLAN.

    28) A new VLAN has been added and Computer C & D has been added to that new VLAN, But Computer A can't communicate with C or D, What commands are required to solve that issue ?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	28.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	167
    Code:
    Router(config)#interface fa 0/1.3
    Router(config-if)#encapsulation d0t1q 3
    Router(config-if)#ip address 192.168.31 255.255.255.0

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    29) Switch C is not synchronized with other switches, Why Switch C is not receiving any VTP updates?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	29.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	168
    Code:
    SwitchC has revision number higher than that being advertised

    30) How many Broadcast domains this switch has?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	30.PNG
Views:	0
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	169
    Code:
    4

    31) Problems started to occur when SwitchB was added to the network, Look at the information below and determine what caused that problem.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	31.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	170
    Code:
    The revision number of SwitchB was higher than the revision number of SwitchA

    32) Users on SwitchA can't connect with Users on the same VLAN on SwitchB, What could be the cause of that?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	32.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	17.3 KB
ID:	171
    Code:
    Ensure that the ports connecting the two switches are configured to trunk.

    33) Hosts on the same VLAN can communicate with each other but not with the other Hosts on a different VLAN, How to fix that?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	33.PNG
Views:	0
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	172
    Code:
    A router with subinterfaces configured on the physical interface that is connected to the switch

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    34) How should the Switches on the figure be configured to allow connectivity between devices?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	34.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	23.0 KB
ID:	173
    Code:
    Make the Switchport mode in each Int FA0/1 trunk.
    
    interface Fastlithernet 0/1
    switchpcrt made trunk

    35) A new VLAN couldn't be added to that switch, Based on the output how can you add VLAN 100 to the switch?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	35.PNG
Views:	0
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	174
    Code:
    1) Make the VTP mode server instead of client by typing : Switch(v1an)# vtp server
    2) Then type : Switch(v1an)# vlan 100

    36) Is that switch saving the VLAN information into the NVRAM?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	36.PNG
Views:	0
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	175
    Code:
    No because it is in a client mode not server mode, So it just learns the VLAN information but not saving it.

    37) There is a connectivity problem in this network, What would correct the problem?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	37.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	22.0 KB
ID:	176
    Code:
    1) Configure the gateway on Host B as 10.1.2.254
    2) Configure the IP address of Host B as 10.1.2.2

    38) A frame from VLAN1 of switch S1 is sent to switch S2 where the frame received on VLAN2, What causes this behavior?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	38.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	177
    Code:
    native vlan mismatch

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    39) The hosts in VLANs 10 and 15 on Sw11 are unable to communicate with hosts in the same VLANs on Sw12, What could be causing the problem?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	39.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	178
    Code:
    The Link connecting the switches has not been configured as a trunk.

    40) This network is fully operational and all hosts can communicate with each other, What is the addressing scheme for this network?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	40.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	13.5 KB
ID:	179
    Code:
    The subnet mask in use is 255.255.255.128.
    The IP address 172.16.1.25 can be assigned to hosts in VLAN1
    The LAN interface of the router is configured with multiple IP addresses.

    41) Based on the output, What can you conclude?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	41.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	180
    Code:
    Switches are not cabled properly

    42) Network Admin can't connect to the switch remotely, What could be the cause?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	42.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	181
    Code:
    VLAN1 is shut down

    43) Where the Switch forward the updates to?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	43.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	182
    Code:
    Forwards it to other switches on the ICND domain

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    44) What VTP functions can this switch perform?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	44.PNG
Views:	0
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	183
    Code:
    Only forward the VTP information

    45) Based on these configurations, Why the switches are not sharing the VTP messages?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	45.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	184
    Code:
    The VTP domain name is different in both switches.
    It should be the same domain name on both.
    46) How many Broadcast domains can you see here?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	46.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	185
    Code:
    Three

    47) Vlan 20 on SwitchA can't communicate with Vlan 30 on SwitchB, What should be done to solve this issue?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	47.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	186
    Code:
    Add a Layer 3 device to connect VLAN 20 and VLAN 30.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts